In the Spotlight: Our Popperations Manager

Meet the captain of our poppery ship: lovely Ian. He’s been our Popperations Manager for the past three and half years, and he’s the chap responsible for all the whizzes, bangs and pops that go on in the factory.

As we’re lucky enough to make all of our popcorn ourselves, we can actually have a sit down and hear all about the guy that makes our little packets of sunshine a reality.

Why did you want to work for Portlebay?

“Well, I was headhunted by Jonty and Neil when they first started, and haven’t been allowed out since.”

What is you favourite thing about working here?

“The popcorn, and the people…but mostly the popcorn”…ouch

What is your favourite flavour?

(Speaking as a part-time vegan) “Crispy Bacon & Maple Syrup” – it’s just that good.

Where is your happy place?

“Start Point Lighthouse; whenever I have friends or family down we go down and you can see the whole bay from there. It’s also the place that reminds me of home, so when I’ve been away for a little while this is where I like to come back to”

img-20161018-wa0000

This is Barney, Ian’s best walking buddy at Start Point 

 What about your favourite thing to do in the sunshine?

“Cycling in the countryside”

What is on your bucket list?

“I want to see the Victoria falls in Zimbabwe – we got very close to visiting when the wife and I were in South Africa, but we didn’t quite get there”

If you could make your own popcorn flavour what would it be?

“Well I really do love bacon, but if I had to make a new one, it would be Thai Green Curry”

Who would play you in a movie about yourself?

“Sean Connery”

if-ian-were-sean-connery

“The name’s Michelmore…Ian Michelmore” 

 

What’s your favourite tipple?

“Real Ale” – a true West Country guy answer.

What is your best feature?

“My wife says it’s my legs, and she’s never wrong!”

How old were you when you had your worst haircut, and what was it?

“I think I was 8 or 9, and I got a crew cut. It was only bad because before that it was down to shoulders!”

 

 

ian-with-long-hair-cropped

For some reason Ian didn’t have a picture, so we’ve made a recreation! You’re welcome Ian

What is your biggest fear?

“Probably being trapped in small spaces. It all goes back to when I was a kid, and I climbed into the fridge. This was only a little fridge that was on top on the counter; being little I made it fall from the counter and on to the floor with me inside it, straight on to the door. I only got out after rocking the fridge from side to side”

What is your greatest achievement?

“I always said I wanted to be able to see the sea from my house, and now I can. It’s what I miss the most when I’m away from home, but now I’ve always got that view to come back to.”

If you’d like to hear from Ian first hand, our poppery is always open for tours! Just drop us an email at letspop@portlebaypopcorn.com, or use the contact form on the blog.

house-by-the-sea

The view working for Portlebay Popcorn gets you! (This may or not be a little fabricated by just a smidge…)

 

Leave a Reply

